I have dreadlocks …….. but I’m not a dirty hippie!

Yes I have dreadlocks. Yes I wash them. Yes it’s actually my real hair……..well most of it. No I don’t have to shave my head when I want to get rid of them…..but guess what ………….I’M GOING TO! Image

I became a hairstylist over 10 years ago and have given lots of other people dreadlocks. I’ve always wanted a full head of long pretty dreadlocks myself but I change my hair so much that I knew I’d get bored with them pretty quick. I’ve been slowly adding dreads to my hair for the last 2 or 3 years. It started with one and then another…and then another until the bottom half of my hair was all dreaded. I used the twist and rip method at first and then the crochet method. No wax, I hate waxed dreads. I decided a few months ago to dreadlock everything except my bangs and the side of my head that was shaved. I relocated a few by adding old ones on the ends of some new ones. You can see a couple pics on my Instagram from when they are brand new. Thankfully with the method I used they look pretty good right away. I knew when I got bored with them I would cut the bottom halves off and comb out the rest. It would take a long time but that was ok with me because there is no way that I would have short hair so it’d be worth it.

So why am I shaving my head? My boyfriend and the person who gives me so much confidence said “you’re not going to do that, just cut your hair really short”. That may not sound like a big deal but for someone who hasn’t had short hair since she was 12 and was told by strangers she looked like a boy, it’s a huge deal. And my hair has always been my identity. I change it all the time, different styles, different colours. Most people in this little village probably don’t know my name but I’m sure they know me for my hair. The fact that he thinks I’m beautiful with or without my long hair makes me feel amazing. So since I’m going really short why not buzz it all? I’ve always wanted to and I already had one side shaved (3/8″). My mom thinks I’m crazy and young girls I’ve told say “awww no, you’re hair is so pretty”. That makes me want to do it even more. I want to feel pretty and feminine without relying on my long hair. I don’t want to hide behind it.

As of right now the big day is on June 21st (I had to pick a date because I’m excited but it’s still way too cold to not have hair). I ended up shaving the other side of my hair so I have a kind of Mohawk thing going on right now which makes me feel a little like Lagertha from Vikings. I’m really liking it a lot so hopefully in less than 8 weeks I’ll be bored of it again.

The countdown is on!

I’d love to hear peoples experiences with shaving their head. How it felt, peoples reactions. Please leave a comment 🙂

 

About nittybird

Owner of Nittybird- Circus, Art, Fashion
This entry was posted in Hair and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I have dreadlocks …….. but I’m not a dirty hippie!

  1. kellygrow says:

    I really like dreadlocks but I don’t think they’d look good on me. :I Cute on you 🙂

    Like

    • nittybird says:

      Thanks! I think they’d look cute on you too 🙂 The great thing about dreads is you can make them suit your style by having them natural, messy, tiny, thick, perfect etc. I don’t know what your hair is like but you can always add in hair from human hair extensions to make them longer or thicker. I love the different styles of dreads and enjoy helping others get them so if you ever want help or tips let me know 🙂

      Like

      • kellygrow says:

        Thanks! I might take you up on the tips eventually, but my parents aren’t a fan of them so I need to wait until I’m older. 🙂 I probably wouldn’t need extensions because my hair is pretty thick and down to my lower back…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I totally get this post! I have dreadlocks too but I absolutely hate when people consider them to be dirty or unkempt. Dreadlocks are mostly the cleanest hair! We don’t have all of that gunk and product build-up like other styles of hair. People need to learn the facts before sharing opinions. Thanks!

    Like

    • nittybird says:

      People have so many weird ideas about dreads. I think it comes from people doing weird uninformed things to achieve their dreads and that’s what people hear and remember. I have known people who had dreads and were told to never ever wash them :/ But clean hair equals better dreads for most hair textures.

      Like

Leave a comment